**Student Spotlight – Adi Horic, Teegan Meade, Simona Roeder and Henry Sun**

 

Homepage image by Henry Sun

 

Ling, Lynette, Hong & Erica from 3rd year spent time creeping around Level 10 to find out more about student experiences and current projects, giving us a great insight into some very different second semester studios.  Spawning a very diverse array of ideas and opinions on RMIT Fashion, this sample of 3rd years shows us a collective consciousness with a very independent attitude…

ADI HORIC

Adi Horic – Menswear

 1.     What excites you about studying fashion at RMIT?

It’s the transition from thought to form and the process/journey taken to reach the desired outcome. It’s exciting watching drawings come to life, and if you’re working by the stand, then it’s a great good challenge of translating the form into a 2D pattern.

 2.     What is the studio you have chosen for this semester and why?

I chose the Menswear studio because it’s what I’ve got planned for my fourth year body of work. There were still techniques I needed to refine before entering the final year. It has been very good preparation with satisfying outcomes.

 3.     Describe your collection this semester in 5 five words or less.

Seventeenth century, Dark, Fantasy, Tailoring

 4.     Describe a time when you failed at something and how you handled it?

2nd year menswear I thought it was a cool idea to do plackets in jersey with no stabilizer. Not the easiest thing. I guess practice was the way I handled it and lastly, bringing my equipment to class. I still haven’t handled it; I borrow stuff off others all the time hahaha. Sorry guys and cheers for bearing with me.

 5.     Do you have an online presence which showcases your work or interests in fashion?

Nope. However, I do plan on setting up an online exhibit with my work in the near future.

6.     Besides fashion, what are your other interests?

Guitar, Music/Gigs, Drawing, Video Games, Graphic design, Street Art

What is your plan after third year?

Join the circus haha nah…Fourth year and then hopefully masters and some more traveling.

 

HENRY SUN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Henry Sun – Instinctual Beast

1.     What excites you about studying fashion at RMIT?

RMIT is well known for its fashion design course in Australia and the reputation has been always recognized by the fashion industry of the entire world. Each year the student’s works are amazing and very creative and I always wanted to be one of them.

 2.     What is the studio you have chosen for this semester and why?

Instinctual beasts – The studio is all about experimentation of different idea, and working with heavy material such as leather is such a cool idea and I always wanted to work with leather because the way leather behaves is so different to fabric in an amazing and surprising way. With this studio, we can do whatever we want and there is no rule restricting us of where we want to push our ideas.

 3.     What interests you most about this studio? And least?

What interests me most about this studio is we had a pilot project called non-fabric and I used ‘vivac’ which is a kind of plastic, and I had some really cool outcomes which was very surprising. What interests me the least is the denim project because personally, I am not a fan of denim and I just do not like the look of it.

 4.     Tell me about something you have done that is very creative in this semester.

The handmade leather stripe that I have been doing is quite creative, as I did not expect the texture created by suede became so successful. It is similar to origami but also different in terms of the leather’s softness and pliability with the beastly look, as the stripes are made out of suede. Then I put all of them together and the look was very successful.

5.     What is your theme and materials to create your collection (prototype)?

My theme is about creating sculptural look by using leather and chunky, heavy wool to build up a powerful silhouette and 3 dimensional textures on garments. And I am also doing this ‘vivac’ form thing that sit under garments so the garment will have a very powerful shoulder silhouette and shape.

6.     What did you enjoy most about your university life?

Honestly I did not enjoy school life that much. If the machine can open for 24 hours like New York or Hong Kong does, we do not have to stress so much about not finishing works on time.

 7.     Describe a time you failed at something and how you handled it?

There was one time I was molding my ‘vivac’ stuff and I tried to tame it as perfectly as I can, but the outcome was bad. The reason it did not turn out as expected because I did not peel off the plastic cover on top, so, the heat did not go through. The molding failed and I was really angry about it because I cannot progress any further without having this done first. I needed it to work so I can start designing garments on top of that. Then, I threw it away as a way of forgetting about it and start fresh the next day. But I regretted the next day though.

 8.     What is your plan after third year?

My plan after third year is to find a good intern locally like alpha 60 or et al to prepare myself with more skills and confidence for next year’s big challenge.

 9.     What sort of direction do you think you will go for in your fourth year?

I am not sure what exactly that I want to do yet. Possibly women’s wear as I can go as far as I can to push boundaries. But I have to see how I go with everything then. I would probably use leather again because what I have been doing just made me fell in love with leather and the way it behaves.

 

 SIMONA ROEDER

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Simona Roeder – The Empty Hanger

1.     What excites you about studying fashion at RMIT?

I’ve always wanted to do this course and it took me 5 attempts to finally get in so I’m pretty excited to be here. I love the way in which fashion and clothing can be used to express stories either within a performance piece, fashion editorials or the concept behind a collection shown on the runway or within an exhibition. I’m excited to have the opportunity where I can explore these ideas further within each semester that goes by.

 2.     What is the studio you have chosen for this semester and why?I chose The Empty Hanger for my studio mainly because I wanted to learn more about the Australian fashion industry and where I could place myself once I finish this course. It has been a great experience, as I have had to learn to find a way of being able to apply what I like creatively within a commercial collection.

I’m currently working on a jacket with feathers on the back, this was inspired by the roman mythology behind the painting ‘The Birth of Venus’ by Sandro Botticelli.” – www.fieldsofink.blogspot.com

 3.     Describe your collection this semester in 5 five words or less.Inspired by roman mythology; structured, opulent, elegant.

 4.     Do you have an online presence, which showcase your work or interests in fashion?I started a blog over a year ago as an online journal for myself, archiving my inspirations, development works and final images of my work. I would like to eventually have a website showing just my work while still keeping my blog as a journal, www.fieldsofink.blogspot.com.

5.     What did you enjoy most about your university life?Being surrounding by amazing talent everyday is inspiring and motivating, I’m definitely going to miss the creative freedom once I leave here, also the extra long holiday breaks is an added bonus

6.     Describe a time when you failed at something and how you handled it?Nothing within this course can ever beat the obstacles I faced when I was a singer having been told my music was crap, that I wasn’t a great singer to finding a cyst on my vocal fold, so whenever something goes wrong when I making a garment or beginning the developing stages of a collection I always think back to those days when I would get back up on stage after hearing bad criticism. The most important lesson is that only your own self-doubt is what holds you back never mind what anyone else says or thinks you just have to keep doing what you love and stay true to yourself.

 7.     What is your plan after third year?I’m staying on to do 4th year, which I’m excited and nervous about. After that who knows, hopefully an internship overseas would be a dream come true.

TEEGAN MEADE

Teegan Meade – F(lux)e

What excites you about studying fashion at RMIT?

One of the things I love most about studying here is being around such creative people all the time, its really inspiring to see what your fellow students are coming up with and how differently everyone goes about their own design process.

 What is the studio you have chosen for this semester and why?

This semester I chose F(lux)e, I was interested in this subject because it seems to have a “play” on evening wear which I was interested in, also it seemed like a lot of fun and really free which I thought was a good decision before 4th year.

 Describe your collection this semester in 5 five words or less.

 White, colour, wedding, experimental, challenging.

 Describe a time when you failed at something and how you handled it?

Umm that’s a really hard question. Probably just constant toiling process and just learning to stick with it and eventually you’ll work it out!

Do you have an online presence which showcases your work or interests in fashion?

Yes I have a tumblr account, http://wishfulsundays.tumblr.com/ mainly just to show what’s going on in my head to do with studio so I haven’t got my head in my folio all the time! Also, tumblr is such an amazing source for photos! I also have been videoing a lot of my work this semester so it’s just an easy place to store everything!

 Besides fashion, what are your other interests?

Um, everything 90s.

 What is your plan after third year?

After third year I want to have a bit of a break over summer, maybe go overseas and really relax before the reality of fourth year sets in!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

