Georgia Head and BLESS, Berlin.

Welcome back Georgia Head- graduate of 2010 and founder of Level 10  to the blog this week, to talk about her experience over in Berlin as an intern for BLESS.  This comes at a great time as, at no matter what stage in our learning- we’re thinking about shaping and shifting our experiences to outside the confines of university over the summer break (or simply perusing webjet on a daily basis, planning your escape!).

When I met Georgia back in 2010, she had already booked her open ended ticket to Germany and was leaving in a matter of weeks after final assessment – with beautiful vague plans ahead of her. Now at a similar stage in my own studies,but with a heavily defined interim stage of money making in between thanks to a mid-year London hiatus.. it makes me re-energized and so pleased to hear about what Georgia has done so far, and I’m sure you will feel the same..

The BLESS Berlin Team (Georgia is far left in the fluro)

“I was lucky enough to intern with Berlin/Parisian design house BLESS in 2011. My three month internship was carried out in Berlin with Ines Kaag, one-half of design due behind BLESS. BLESS, a cross-disciplinary design house, explores conceptual ideas through clothing, products and interior spaces.

It is difficult to categorize a company like BLESS as their way of designing is a reflection of a way of living. BLESS is the space you walk into, the chair you sit in, objects you wear, clothing you exhibit, games you play and ideas you explore. BLESS have exhibited work at contemporary art spaces such as Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris and the Design Museum Holon, alongside producing collections at Paris Fashion Week bi-annually. Throughout my Bachelor of design (Fashion) I became interested in BLESS from the un-conventional way they approached designing. For years, I had encountered BLESS inglossy, hard cover art/fashion books in the library or awaited their new collection video online. Arriving in Berlin i anticipated what i would discover once immersed into the universe of BLESS. For the next three months I experienced first-hand the world of BLESS.

The studio was spread over two levels in an old apartment block in Wedding, Berlin. I was instantly surrounded by hundreds of books and publications which BLESS featured, along with the achieve of BLESS products and clothing which was spread around the office and studio.

Photographing prototypes in progress

The table in the BLESS studio was a meeting point for discussing and showing prototypes, where interviews were carried out, samples checked, friends and visitors chatted and where we had our daily meal together. The studio team of four grew to seven depending on the intern intake. When i first arrived i spent two weeks with Nhat from the Netherlands before spending two weeks on my own. From December two more interns, Bart from Belgium, and Charlotte from Germany joined me for my remaining two months. As I had hoped this close knit environment meant a sense of community and camaraderie between us. This group of people became my close friends and eventually felt like my family away from home. It was fantastic to be surrounded by people that shared the same passion for a way of designing and thinking.

Each day we would sit down for a hot lunch together. It was a great way to get to know eachother and relax before commencing work in the afternoon.

Throughout the course of my time at BLESS I was also helping the design assistant with the collaboration BLESS had undertaken Swedish fashion label Weekday. As I had undertaken many collaborations in my degree, it was beneficial learning the positive and negative implications when collaborating with another fashion label/brand. Although I had finished my internship one month prior to showing the new collection at Paris fashion week, I was invited to attend the show. It was rewarding seeing the clothing I had worked developed to the final stage. The collection was presented in a beautiful apartment in the center of Paris with art students sketching the models wearing the new collection. It was a an interesting reversal of common design practice from sketch to clothing.

In December we spent one week preparing the archieve for the annual sale in the showroom. Alongside this I did the inventory of BLESS products and clothing.

Alongside my internship was the opportunity to live and explore Germany. Interning internationally challenged me personally as I had to adjust to living in another country with a foreign language. I feel that this experience has been one of growth and transformation, while it has also created a new focus for my goals and opened new possibilities. Living in Berlin in the wintertime was also challenging, as I had never experienced living in the snow. I am proud of myself how quickly I was able to adjust to the new environment whilst interning full time. After my three months I applied for a German working holiday Visa which enables me to stay in Germany until February 2012. Initially I felt my process of finishing university, moving overseas and commencing the internship was a little rushed. However Bless were extremely welcoming and treated me like a friend from the beginning, making the transition easier. I feel that doing an internship from university does help eliminate the fear of getting a job straight out of university and aided the transition into the workplace. I would recommend my experience to others as i have met some wonderful people and realised how possible things are, wherever you are in the world.

Words by Georgia Head, Post by Meg Hutchens

Leave a Reply

  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct    
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
